Tag Archives: blog hop

I’m visiting another author today!

11 Apr

I’m spending this gorgeous Wednesday in Texas…virtually, anyway! I’m a guest on romance author MJ Fredrick’s blog, talking about everything from the inspiration behind Mending Fences to three of my favorite things.

I’m also giving away a copy of Mending Fences, so come on over and visit! http://mjfredrick.wordpress.com/

Blog Hop Winners

7 Apr

We had an amazing blog hop this week! 3,000 comments were posted over the course of the hop. I loved all the stories of good birthday memories, but I can’t believe how many incredibly bad birthday stories I read. Yikes!

My blog’s winning comment (as selected by random.org) is: Leigh Savage! She won a $20 Amazon Gift Card, and a paperback copy of my book, Mending Fences. Congratulations!

FYI, the Grand Prize winners for the entire hop were:

Kindle Touch: Teri Matlock, posting on Cari Quin’s blog

$60 Amazon Gift Card: Lisa Walker, posting on Jessica Subject’s blog

Whenever your birthday falls this year, I hope it’s fabulous!

The Birthday Blog Hop is Here!

5 Apr

Welcome to the Birthday Blog Hop! 60 authors are celebrating paranormal author Carrie Ann Ryan’s birthday tomorrow by participating in this hop. I’m so glad to have you here and I hope you enjoy yourself for a bit before moving on to the rest of the hop!

My best birthday came when I turned 27. I was divorced and dating a few different guys. One particular guy was introduced to my profile by the woman running the dating service we’d both joined a few months earlier. I had already viewed his profile, really liked him, and given permission for him to contact me. He liked my profile as well and called me one week before my birthday. We talked for an hour on the first call. He asked me out and we met for dinner and a long walk a few days later. By the time he sent flowers to my office the next day, I was hooked. We talked every night on the phone for hours, because we lived in different cities and getting together was tricky.

On my birthday, he had other plans, but he called me late that night, and as we talked, the conversation turned serious. Suddenly, the perfect moment struck, and he asked me to marry him.

I’d known him a week. We’d seen each other one night. I hadn’t even kissed him yet. But I knew. Lightning had struck, and I just knew.

I said yes.

I don’t recommend this approach to finding a mate to anyone else. But for us, it worked. We were married four weeks later and together we’ve raised five children. It’s been an amazing ride with my towering Helvetican Hero, and it all started on my birthday!

Oh, I did finally kiss him when I saw him the next day. A lack of chemistry would have been a deal-breaker, but when his lips touched mine…wow! And after all these years, he can still make me weak in the knees with a kiss.

What’s your favorite or least favorite birthday memory? Leave a comment and your email address for a chance to win your choice of a $20 gift card from either Amazon or Barnes & Noble from me, and to have a shot at one of the Hop’s grand prizes:

  1. A Kindle Touch
  2. A $60 Gift Card to Amazon or Barnes & Noble

Oh, before you go, here’s the recipe for my current contemporary romance, Mending Fences:

Take one reformed hotshot CEO playing rancher. Add one strong woman, an abuse survivor with a lot of secrets. Toss together for one searing kiss on Halloween, then separate. Fold in a slightly deformed pet bison who creates serendipity by accident. Stir together. Add discoveries, revelations, angst, heartbreak, suspense, and generous helpings of both healing and sexual tension. Layer with family relationships and a secondary love story and simmer to a Happy Ever After.

Opening taste: Curran Shaw treasured his anonymity, but maintaining it required solitude. And the damned solitude was killing him.

Available in paperback and ebook.

Kindle:  http://amzn.to/yJy1Af     Amazon paperback: http://amzn.to/H4ZfLi

Barnes & Noble paperback: http://bit.ly/HPy6w2

Enjoy the rest of the blog hop!

Carrie Ann Ryan http://www.carrieannryan.blogspot.com/
Lia Davis www.authorliadavis.com/
Beth-Ann Mason www.bethannmason.com/blog
Writer,Author,Husband,Dad jamieheppner.blogspot.com/
Natasha Blackthorne http://natashablackthorneblog.blogspot.com/
Romance Book Club blog.romance-book-club.com
Daryl Devore myeroticnotions.blogspot.com
Eliza Gayle elizagayle.net/blog
Realmantic Moments http://realmanticmoments.blogspot.com/
Amber Kallyn amberkallyn.wordpress.com
Harlies Books harliebooks.blogspot.com
Wickedly Erotic by JL Oiler www.joiler.weebly.com
Kacey Hammel http://kaceyhammellkreations.blogspot.com/
I Love Shape-Shifters michelehart.blogspot.com/
Marie Dees mariedees.com
Victoria Adams victoriaadams.blogspot.com/
The World of Heaven Oshey http://theworldofheavenoshey.blogspot.com/
Lucy Francis www.lucyfrancis.net
Vickie Taylor www.vickietaylor.com
Tara Lain taralain.blogspot.com
Birthday Traditions www.steelestories.com
Wendi Zwaduk wendizwaduk.blogspot.com/
Megan Slayer http://theauthormeganslayer.blogspot.com/
Cari Quinn cariquinn.blogspot.com
Stephanie Haefner http://www.stephaniehaefnerthewriter.com/
Angelique Armae http://angeliquearmae.blogspot.com/
Cassandra Carr http://booksbycassandracarr.com/wordpress/
Kharisma Rhayne www.kharismarhayne.com
A Page in the Life http://leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com/
Wendy Elys Books www.wendyely.blogspot.com/
Jessica E. Subject jessicasubject.com
K.E. Saxon www.kesaxon.blogspot.com
Stacy Jubas Mysteries, Murder & More stacyjuba.com/blog/blog/
Jessie Kimmel-Freeman http://bellanottethebook.weebly.com/blog.html
Tracy Sumners Romance Site www.tracysumner.com
Shells Book Corner shellsbookcorner.blogspot.com/
Allison Merritt havenovelwilledit.blogspot.com
Suzzana C Ryan http://www.suzzanacryanromanceauthor.blogspt.com/
Lizzie Starr starrwords.blogspot.com
Diana Layne Blog blog.dianalayne.com/
Love is a Many Flavored Thing – DC Juris dcjuris.blogspot.com
Dianne Venetta www.diannevenetta.com
Sharon Gerlach sharongerlach.wordpress.com
Book Lovers Haven taiyouryu.blogspot.com
Romance you Can Sink Your Fangs into http://www.shannanalbright.blogspot.com/
Casey Crow (18+ Over) www.caseycrow.com/blog/
Writing with Kristine Cayne kristinecayne.blogspot.com/
Just a Readers Ramblings http://justareadersramblings.wordpress.com/
Angela Stone www.angelastone.ca/blog-3
Rawiya Erotica rawiyaerotica.wordpress.com
Conversations with Lisa Mondello www.lisamondello.blogspot.com
Passions Recalled and Celebrated christineleovlealand-author.blogspot.co.nz/
Bull Protettore http://bullprotettoremurdermysteries.blogspot.com/
Louisa Bacio – Love Knows No Bounds louisabacio.blogspot.com
Cat Johnson catjohnson.net/2012/04/06/blog-hop/
Cynthia Woolf www.cynthiawoolf.com/blog
Diane Alberts dianealberts.com
Patrica Green Books www.patriciagreenbooks.com
Discovering Nya Rayne http://discoveringnyarayne.blogspot.com/

The Wednesday of Impending Doom!

4 Apr

Okay, not really impending doom, but today is the last day of school before Spring Break, when my teens and all their friends will fill up the house, have lightsaber fights in the living room, and consume all the food like locusts. They’ll pile up blankets and pillows all over the TV room floor, layered like sediment with empty chip bags, candy wrappers, and empty soda cans. They’ll fall asleep in the wee hours of the night without turning off whatever horror movie is running, so I’ll eventually have to drag in there and try not to stumble over bodies to shut the system down… Yep, I had it right at the beginning. Impending doooooooom!

I really don’t mind, though. If they’re all here, I know where they are and I know what they’re doing. Always a good thing with teenagers.

Make sure to stop in Thursday or Friday. I’m participating in a 60-author blog hop in honor of paranormal romance author Carrie Ann Ryan’s birthday! Each author is going to talk about birthdays or why they love (or hate) them.

What does that mean for you as a reader? Each author is giving away a prize at their blog AND we’re giving away TWO grand prizes.

  1. A Kindle Touch
  2. A $60 Amazon or Barnes & Noble Gift Card

You can comment on each blog and every comment is an entry for the grand prizes! How great is that? The hop begins tomorrow, April 5th, and you have until 11:59PM on the 6th to participate!

St. Patrick’s Day Blog Hop: Siamsa Time!

16 Mar

Welcome to my stop on your St. Patrick’s Day Blog Hop! I’m thrilled to have you here!

My grandfather was Irish (my maiden name is Maher), and I’ve always been proud to have a bit of Irish in me.

I’d always wanted to try Irish step dancing, partly due to heritage, and partly because it just looks and sounds so very cool! A year ago on March 15 (oooooh, Beware the Ides of March), I blew out my knee during a taekwondo class. After surgery to replace the ACL and six months of rehab, I decided it was time for a new activity. After years of suggesting Irish dance as a mother/daughter activity to the Princess, she finally gave in, and we joined a school.

I’m not fantastic at it yet…still have a bit of trouble translating the steps from brain to feet! But it’s enormously fun and I only wish I’d started years ago. To celebrate St. Patrick’s Day this year, I’ll be dancing in my first Siamsa (pronounced SHAMsuh, it’s basically a big Irish party), with hundreds of other dancers, musicians, and assorted folk turning out to celebrate the day when everyone can be Irish! How will you celebrate?

Leave a comment for a chance to win a $10 Amazon gift card from me, and to have a shot at one of the hop’s Grand Prizes: Your choice of a Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet, or your choice of a $90 Amazon or B&N Gift Card!

Oh, before you go, here’s the recipe for my current contemporary romance, Mending Fences…

Take one reformed hotshot CEO playing rancher. Add one strong woman, an abuse survivor with a lot of secrets. Toss together for one searing kiss on Halloween, then separate. Fold in a slightly deformed pet bison who creates serendipity by accident.  Stir together. Add discoveries, revelations, angst, heartbreak, suspense, and generous helpings of both healing and sexual tension. Layer with family relationships and a secondary love story and simmer to a Happy Ever After.

Opening taste: Curran Shaw treasured his anonymity, but maintaining it required solitude. And the damned solitude was killing him.

Available in paperback and ebook.

Kindle:  http://amzn.to/yJy1Af     Nook: http://bit.ly/xgLD9O     Smashwords: http://bit.ly/wHtLGm     ARe: http://bit.ly/ybSwtV

Enjoy the rest of the blog hop!

Carrie Ann Ryan www.carrieannryan.blogspot.com
Lia Davis www.authorliadavis.com/blog/
Jesse Kimmel – Freeman http://bellanottethebook.weebly.com/blog.html
Heather Thurmeier heatherthurmeier.com
Gem Savid www.gemsivad.com/blog/
Emily Cale www.emilycale.blogspot.com
Kharisma Rhayne www.kharismarhayne.com
Megan Slayer http://theauthormeganslayer.blogspot.com/
Wendi Zwaduk wendizwaduk.blogspot.com/
Marie Dees mariedees.com
Cassandra Carr http://www.booksbycassandracarr.com/wordpress
Cynthia Woolf www.cynthiawoolf.com/blog
Sandra Bunio Sandrabunino.com
Vannessa Kelly/VK Sykes vanessakellyauthor.com/vanessa-blog/
Tracy Sumner tracysumner.com/blog
Lousia Bacio louisabacio.blogspot.com
Kacey Hammell http://kaceyhammellkreations.blogspot.com/p/st-patricks-day-blog-hop.html
Casia Major caseamajor.wordpress.com/
Eliza Gayle www.elizagayle.net/blog
Natasha Blackthorne http://natashablackthorneblog.blogspot.com/
Allison Merritt havenovelwilledit.blogspot.com
Sandra Sookoo sandrasookoo.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/st-pattys-day-blog-hop-its-not-easy-being-green/
Tara Lain taralain.blogspot.com
Lila Shaw http://lilashaw.com/2012/03/16/st-patricks-day-blog-hop/
Dianne Hartsock diannehartsock.wordpress.com/my-blog/
Ella Jade http://www.ellajadeauthor.blogspot.com/
Bella Street http://www.bellastreetwrites.blogspot.com/
In a Dream Beyond inadreambeyond.blogspot.com
Jessica E. Subject markofthestars.com
H.D. Tomson www.hdthomson.com
A Girl with a Computer http://www.agirlwithacomputer.blogspot.com/
Dakota Trace alittlebitofnaughty.blogspot.com/
Stephanie Draven www.stephaniedraven.com
Welcome to the Island (DX lux) welcome-to-the-island-of-dxluc.blogspot.com/
Chrisinte Quintessence  christineleovlealand-author.blogspot.com/
Tommy Bull Qutntessence http://bullprotettoremurdermysteries.blogspot.com/
Stephanie Queen www.StephanieQueen.com
Leigth Ellwod leighwantsfood.blogspot.com
Linda Andrews http://lindaandrews.wordpress.com/
Lizze Star – Starry words starrwords.blogspot.com
K.E. Saxon www.kesaxon.blogspot.com
Skye Warren skyewarren.com/blog
Veronica Scott veronicascott.wordpress.com/
Lissa Matthews lissamatthews.com/blog
Life is a First Draft (Rebecca Clark) rebeccajclark.blogspot.com
Keta Diablo ketaskeep.blogspot.com
Victoria Adams victoriaadams.blogspot.com/
Daryl Devore myeroticnotions.blogspot.com/
Adriana Kraft adrianakraft.com/blog
Kaye Manro kayemanro.blogspot.com
Amber Kallyn amberkallyn.wordpress.com
Romance Book Club (Joyce) blog.romance-book-club.com/2012/01/st-patrick-day-bloghop-gift-card.html
A Writers (Kathryn Blake) kathrynrblake.blogspot.com/
Pippa Jay pippajay.blogspot.com/
Erica Pike eripike.blogspot.com
Diane Alberts dianealberts.com
Michael Mandrake tabooindeed.blogspot.com
Nikki Brandyberry nikkibrandyberry.wordpress.com/
Gabrielle Bissett gbisset.blogspot.com/
Tamaria Soana tamariasoana.blogspot.com/
Katey Hawthorn www.kateyhawthorne.com/
She Likes it Verbal (Sarah Bella) http://shelikesitverbal.com/blog/
Ranea Rose www.ranaerose.blogspot.com
Selah Janel www.selahjanel.wordpress.com
Zilah Anderson http://zillahanderson.wordpress.com/
Cari Quinn cariquinn.blogspot.com
Briana Courtney brinacourtney.blogspot.com
Jorja Lovett jorja-lovett.blogspot.com/
Get Intimate with History (Anna Markland) http://annamarklandromanceauthor.blogspot.com/
Jennifer Lynne jenniferlynne.com.au/blog
Breathless Press www.breathlessblog.com/
Stephanie Haefner http://www.stephaniehaefnerthewriter.com/
Lisa Kumar lisakumar.blogspot.com/
Close Encounters (Nikki) http://closeencounterswiththenightkind.blogspot.com/
Liana Brooks www.lianabrooks.com
Tory Michaels www.torymichaels.com
Best Erotica (Jemma) best-erotica-books.blogspot.com
Wendy Smith  http://www.wendysmithbooks.blogspot.com/
SL Carpenter slcarpenter.blogspot.com/
Day Dreaming daydrmzzz.blogspot.com/
The Ebook Reviewers (Viari Rose) http://theebookreviewers.blogspot.com/
Dark Haven Book Reviews http://www.darkhavenbookreviews.com/
BooksAreCool www.booksarecool.com
DC Juris dcjuris.blogspot.com/
Roz Lee www.authorrozlee.blogspot.com
Le Ann Sontheimer Murphy http://leeannsontheimermurphywriterauthor.blogspot.com/
Realmantic Moments http://realmanticmoments.blogspot.com/
Angela Stone http://www.angelastone.ca/blog-3
Brea Essex breaessex.wordpress.com
Writing Utopia  
Beth-Ann Mason http://www.bethannmason.com/st-patricks-day-its-all-about-the-tradition/
Jennifer Lowery http://jenniferloweryauthor.wordpress.com/2012/03/16/st-patricks-day-blog-hop/
Harlies Books harliebooks.blogspot.com
Modern Mythic Romance http://www.sherifredricks.com/apps/blog/
JM Madden jmmadden.blogspot.com/
Lucy Francis www.lucyfrancis.net
Jennfier Probst www.jenniferprobst.com
Aine Massie apmassie.com
Vickie Taylor www.VickieTaylor.com
The Regeny Inkwell http://theregencyinkwell.wordpress.com/
A Diamond in the Dark www.akmarshall.com
Michele Hart http://michelehart.blogspot.com/
Vicki Batman vickibatman.blogspot.com
Kristine Cayne http://kristinecayne.blogspot.com/
Norah Wilson http://norahwilsonwrites.com/wordpress/
Angelique Armae http://angeliquearmae.blogspot.com/
Lisa Mondello www.lisamondello.blogspot.com
JL Oiler www.joiler.weebly.com
Linda Frazier lyndafrazier.blogspot.com
Stacy Juba stacyjuba.com/blog/blog/
Liz Crowe www.brewingpassion.com
Heaven Oshey http://theworldofheavenoshey.blogspot.com/
Patricia Green www.patriciagreenbooks.com
Cat Kalen www.catkalen.com/blog/
Madeline Sloane www.madelinesloane.com/
Jenna Jaxon jennajaxon.wordpress.com
Dianne Ventta www.diannevenetta.com
The Jeep Diva www.thejeepdiva.com/
Margay Leah Justice margayleahjustice.blogspot.com
Leia Shaw www.leiashaw.blogspot.com
JoAnne Kenrick www.joannekenrick.com
Rose Gordon http://rosesromanceramblings.wordpress.com/